Colleges & Schools




  • Baruch College

  • Borough of Manhattan Community College

  • City College of New York

  • CUNY Graduate Center

  • CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

  • CUNY School of Professional Studies

  • Hunter College

  • John Jay College of Criminal Justice

  • Macaulay Honors College at CUNY

  • Stella and Charles Guttman Community College

  • CUNY School of Public Health


  • CUNY School of Law

  • LaGuardia Community College

  • Queens College

  • Queensborough Community College

  • York College


  • Brooklyn College

  • Kingsborough Community College

  • Medgar Evers College

  • New York City College of Technology


  • Bronx Community College

  • Hostos Community College

  • Lehman College

Staten Island

  • College of Staten Island

Online and Multi-Location Schools

The University includes eleven senior colleges, seven community colleges, The Macaulay Honors College and five graduate and professional schools, located throughout the city’s five boroughs. more

Each of the senior colleges offers a distinctive history, as well as a rigorous baccalaureate degree program and enriching campus experience. Over the years,  The City College of New York, founded in 1847 as the Free Academy, has been joined by:

The Macaulay Honors College at CUNY, established in 2005, offers exceptional undergraduates a transformative educational experience, blending traditional and innovative programs at eight senior college campuses, in addition to Macaulay’s central home near Manhattan’s Lincoln Center.

The University’s seven community colleges provide a high-quality education through associate degree programs that prepare students for transfer to senior colleges or entry into professional careers. These institutions include:

The Stella and Charles Guttman Community College, which opened in the fall of 2012, is the University’s first new community college in more than 40 years, especially designed to connect rigorous classroom learning with rich field experiences and internships in the wider urban community.
The CUNY Graduate Center offers more than 30 doctoral programs, as well as seven master’s degree programs. CUNY School of Public Health, a collaboration of four CUNY institutions, offers masters and doctoral degrees, as well as two undergraduate degrees. The CUNY Graduate School of Journalism is the only publicly funded graduate school of journalism in the Northeast, and the CUNY School of Law, which recently moved to Long Island City, is recognized as the nation’s premier public-interest law school. In addition, the New York City College of Technology — the largest public college of technology in New York State — serves as a national model for technological education, blending specialized, cutting-edge instruction with a broad liberal arts program. The new CUNY School of Public Health focuses on the distinctive health issues facing urban neighborhoods and brings together public health programs at Brooklyn, Lehman and the Graduate Center, as well as other faculty with relevant expertise from around the University.
The CUNY School of Professional Studies fulfills the many educational and training needs of the city’s working adults, organizations and employers. SPS also offers CUNY’s first fully online undergraduate degree, as well as several groundbreaking online master’s degree programs.