Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mathematics Instruction

Matthew Goldstein, Chancellor of the City University of New York (and trained mathematician), created this prestigious award to recognize faculty who have implemented an outstanding instructional method for teaching undergraduate mathematics at CUNY. The instructional techniques of award winners have been shown to positively impact their students' learning, and also have the potential to be used with many students.

The award, on behalf of the Office of the Chancellor, is administered through CUNY’s Central Office of Academic Affairs. There are a maximum of six $5,000 awards per year: two in each of the three campus sectors (community colleges, comprehensive colleges, and senior colleges), with up to one award per sector to a full-time faculty member and one to a part-time faculty member [1]. Awards are based on evidence demonstrating that the faculty member’s students improved their skills in math as a result of a particular successful technique or action. Materials submitted by candidates include evidence of excellent instructional methods, as measured by improvements in student learning, within at least the past year. Eligible courses for the award are developmental or credit-bearing mathematics courses up to and including the first year of calculus.

Nominations, submitted to CUNY’s Central Office of Academic Affairs, are reviewed by a panel consisting both of Office of Academic Affairs staff and CUNY mathematics faculty. The committee makes recommendations to the Chancellor, who then makes the final selections. Awardees are expected to participate in demonstrations or other dissemination events in order to communicate their successful techniques to others. Read about the 2011 winning projects >>


Award Receipient History

The winners of the second annual Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Mathematics Instruction were Peter Gregory (Baruch College), G. Michael Guy (Queensborough Community College), Janet Liou-Mark (New York City College of Technology), and Leonard Presby (Queens College).  Read more >>

The first winners of the Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Mathematics Instruction were Thomas Mormino (College of Staten Island), Frank Wang (LaGuardia Community College), and Walter Wang (Baruch College). Chancellor Goldstein honored these professors at a ceremony on October 29, 2009.

[1] Awardees should discuss with their accountants issues concerning the possible taxability of these funds.